What Is The Candle Holder For Hanukkah Called

The central ritual of Hanukkah is the lighting of a unique, nine-branched menorah. So, what is the candle holder for Hanukkah called? The majority of people, even Jews, wrongly refer to this as a menorah.

Although the real word for the candleholder is Hanukkiah or Hanukkah menorah. A menorah, with just seven candleholders, was the light used in the ancient holy temple in Jerusalem. It is today a symbol of Judaism as well as an emblem of Israel. 

what is the candle holder for Hanukkah called


Hanukkah: What You Need to Know

A Hanukkiah, on the other hand, includes nine candlesticks. One for each night of Hanukkah, plus one extra to light the others. A Hanukkiah should contain eight candleholders of the same height; a ninth branch is situated higher than the others, according to Jewish law

Traditionally, olive oil was used to light the Hannukiah, which was later substituted with candles. These are inserted progressively each night from right to left but lit from left to right. Since 1998, the world’s largest Hanukkiah.

It is a 32-foot-high gold-colored steel sculpture. It has been on display in New York City’s Central Park during the Festival of Lights. So, let us get to the big picture, what is the candle holder for Hanukkah called?


What Is The Candle Holder For Hanukkah Called

Hanukkah, or the Festival of Lights, is a significant time of year in the Jewish faith. It is because it commemorates the re-dedication of the Holy Temple in Jerusalem. On each night of Hanukkah, one candle will be lit on the candelabrum with nine branches known as a menorah. Therefore, the answer to the question what is the candle holder for Hanukkah called is the Menorah.

One branch of the menorah is elevated above the others, and this is the candle that is used to ignite the remaining eight candles. The majority of Jewish people who celebrate Hanukkah believe that lighting the menorah is their favorite aspect of the holiday. The shamash is the center candle that lights the other candles.

Each night, the shamash ignites another flame until all the candles are gloriously aglow together on the final day of Hanukkah. Every night when the stars emerge, the menorah should be lighted. It must be performed in front of all members of the home so that everyone may witness the miracle. 

You are not permitted to eat a ‘set’ meal or consume anything intoxicating for the 30 minutes preceding the lighting of the menorah. The evening prayers are to be chanted as soon as the nightly stars emerge, followed by the lighting of the menorah. The lights must be turned on for at least 30 minutes. 

To be kosher, the shamash must be somewhat higher or lower than the other candles or lights. Along with the star of David, the seven-branched menorah is one of the most well-known traditional Jewish symbols.

During Hanukkah, elected leaders frequently participate in the public lighting of the menorah. Every year, Hanukkah begins on the 25th of Kislev, which can fall anywhere between late November and late December according to the Hebrew calendar.

Hanukkah is also known as the Feast of Dedication or the Festival of Lights. Hanukkah is derived from the Hebrew verb ‘to devote.’ Hanukkah is the Hebrew term for the holiday and is frequently spelled Chanukah or Hannukah. There is no correct or incorrect spelling because it is translated to equivalent sounds in English rather than a specific spelling.

In Hebrew, the term Hanukkah has always been spelled the same manner and spoken with a ‘het’ sound at the beginning. It is comparable to the Scottish ‘loch’ sound. The holiday of Hanukkah begins on the 25th of Kislev, which is supposed to be the day when Jews stopped fighting for Jerusalem.

A Hanukkah menorah, also known as a hanukkiah. It is a candelabrum with nine branches that they light up during the Hanukkah, a Jewish holiday that lasts eight days. From the nine branches, eight bear lights (candles or oil lamps) represent the eight nights of the celebration.

Each night, one more light is turned on than the night before, until all eight branches are lit on the last night. The shamash candle is found on the ninth branch. It means “assistant” or “servant,” and it is used to light the other eight.

The Hanukkah menorah is similar to, but not the same as, the seven-branched menorah used in the ancient Temple in Jerusalem. It’s one of the most widely created pieces of Jewish ritual art, along with the seven-branched menorah and the Star of David. Around Hanukkah season in December, the hanukkiah is frequently shown in public. 

Elected officials can often be observed publicly lighting the hanukkiah. The Chabad-Lubavitch movement is well-known for its public lighting ceremonies. It has been held since 1987, when their last Rebbe, Menachem Mendel Schneerson, issued an order.

Author Rabbi Joshua Plaut, Ph.D. discusses the history of public hanukkiah displays in the United States. It recounts court decisions linked to this subject in his book A Kosher Christmas: ‘Tis the Season to Be Jewish. It recounts how US Presidents came to enjoy lighting the Hanukkiah during Hanukkah.


Conclusion on What is the Candle Holder for Hanukkah Called

The majority of Hanukkah-observant Jews say that lighting the menorah is their favorite part of the holiday. So, what is the candle holder for Hanukkah called? It is called the Hanukkah menorah.

Leave a Comment